Search by Racecourse
Use the search by racecourse feature above to select the racecourse you require or click on the interactive map on the right to select the racecourse of your choice

Interactive Map (horseracing) Racing Fixtures Logo - Click Here To Go Home (horseracing)
Local Area Directory
Business Services| Eating Out / Nightlife| Health & Beauty| Home & Garden|
Hotels & Accommodation| Local Shopping| Leisure, Motoring & Transport
Fixtures at Pontefract
Date Race Type
Thursday 21st September 2017 Flat - Turf - Afternoon
Thursday 28th September 2017 Flat - Turf - Afternoon
Monday 9th October 2017 Flat - Turf - Afternoon
Monday 23rd October 2017 Flat - Turf - Afternoon
Tuesday 3rd April 2018 Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Monday 23rd April 2018 Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Wednesday 2nd May 2018 Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Friday 25th May 2018 Flat - Evening - Turf
Monday 11th June 2018 Flat - Evening - Turf
Sunday 24th June 2018 Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Monday 2nd July 2018 Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Tuesday 10th July 2018 Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Friday 20th July 2018 Flat - Evening - Turf
Sunday 29th July 2018 Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Wednesday 8th August 2018 Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Sunday 19th August 2018 Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Thursday 20th September 2018 Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Thursday 27th September 2018 Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Monday 8th October 2018 Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Monday 22nd October 2018 Flat - Afternoon - Turf
The fixtures are reproduced under license to the British Horseracing Authority.(m326) ©British Horseracing Authority 2005 - 2018. The fixtures may be subject to alteration.

Pontefract Racecourse

Set in West Yorkshire, Pontefract is one of the most popular tracks in the north of England and produces many course specialists. Being a stiff, undulating two-mile track, the emphasis is firmly placed on stamina in the staying races but front runners are ideally suited to this track in sprints where an inside, low draw is important.

Pontefract Racecourse, Pontefract Park, Park Rd, Pontefract, Wakefield WF8 4QD.
Official Website: http://www.pontefract-races.co.uk/

The Effect of the Draw

Low numbers should do best here, purely because the course turns left all the way, but that doesn't work out in practice. Indeed, high numbers are best when the going is heavy, as the ground on the inside rail soon gets chewed up.